Content Tabs:
Tan Dun Overture ‘Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon’ 1. Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon; 4. Eternal Vow; 5. To the South
Chausson Poeme, op.25
Mahler Symphony No 1 in D major ‘Titan’

Tamsin Waley Cohen, violin
Jiapeng Nie, cello
DaYe Lin, conductor

We’re giving orchestral lovers in the UK the rare opportunity to experience one of Asia’s most revered orchestras this March, as the China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra (SZSO) embarks on its first ever UK tour.

Classical music has strong roots in China, with its most revered orchestras going further back than some of our most recognised European ones. Historically, UK audiences have had limited opportunity to experience Chinese orchestras here, so we can’t wait to welcome the SZSO as one of China’s most prestigious for its debut tour, with internationally acclaimed violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen.

The world-class, 100-strong orchestra will perform a fantastically wide-ranging and impressive programme that features both film and orchestral pieces.

It includes excerpts from the film score for Academy Award-winning Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon – the first live orchestral performance since the film’s release over 20 years ago, composed by the orchestra’s honorary conductor, Tan Dun.

Audiences will also enjoy Poème, the beguiling piece from French composer Ernest Chausson, one of the most underrated figures of the Romantic era, which tells the fantastical story of how a young woman is seduced by a former lover who possesses an enchanted violin. From the sounds of nature and peasant dances, to folksongs, hunting calls and a funeral march, the Poème is introspective and utterly beautiful.

Also part of this programme is Mahler’s monumental First Symphony, known as The Titan, which reflects the composer’s vision of a symphony embracing the world. Full of all the energy and drive of Mahler’s youth, it features one of the most exciting finales to have ever been written.

The China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra was founded over 40 years ago in what was then a small fishing village. Since that time, Shenzhen has transformed into China’s third most populous city and global technology hub and the orchestra has grown within this backdrop. The China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra now represents the rich culture of the city, under the direction of Daye Lin, one of the most exciting young conductors in China.

£33.50, £29.50, £26.50, £22.50, £17.50; Disabled £18.50, £17.00, £15.50, £13.50 (inc £2.50 booking fee per ticket), £7.50; Students/Young Scot/Under 26s £6; Under 18s go free

The SZSO UK 2024 tour is managed and organised by Armstrong Music and Arts and Poly Armstrong.

If you have subscribed to the 23/24 Perth Concert Series you can book this event and save up to 25% (exc booking fees).

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Perth Theatre and Concert Hall.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info
China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra Book now
Mon 18 Mar 2024: 19:30
Perth Concert Hall