Content Tabs:
The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra have unfortunately had to withdraw from this performance on 28 November. We are however delighted that the Romanian National Philharmonic Orchestra, Filarmonica Brasov has agreed to step in and support Maxim Vengerov. The programme will now be as follows.

Sibelius Karelia Suite, Op.11
Shor Symphonic Prelude (commissioned piece, world premiere)
Shor Seascapes for Violin and Orchestra
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No.1 in D major, Op.19
Tchaikovsky "Romeo and Juliet" Fantasy Overture, TH 42, ČW 39

Brasov Philharmonic Orchestra
Maxim Vengerov, violin
Sergey Smbatyan, conductor

Maxim Vengerov has been a musical force of nature for the last 30 years. As an acclaimed virtuoso violinist, he has conquered the classical world. Alongside the Romanian National Philharmonic Orchestra, Filarmonica Brasov and celebrated Armenian conductor Sergey Smbatyan, here he'll take centre stage in contemporary composer Alexy Shor's Seascapes, a mellifluous and evocative work in four movements that combines haunting melodic lines with complex technical passages, before delighting in a combination of playfulness and depth with Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto. To start off the concert meanwhile, Smbatyan and the Romanian National Philharmonic Orchestra, Filarmonica Brasov will perform Sibelius’s sharply evocative Karelia Suite followed by Shor’s newly-commissioned Symphonic Prelude, with Tchaikovsky’s emotionally-charged Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture being selected to close off proceedings.

This concert is being organised together with CMDI Group.

'maturity and self-possession, a penetrating depth of expression'
New York Times

£33.50, £29.50, £26.50, £22.50, £17.50; Disabled concessions £18.50, £17.00, £15.50, £13.50 (inc £2.50 booking fee per ticket), £7.50; Students/Young Scot/u26s £6; u18s go free

If you have subscribed to the 22/23 Perth Concert Series you can book this event during the subscriber priority booking period and save up to 15% (exc booking fees).

General booking opens Mon 27 Jun: 10am

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Horsecross Arts.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Horsecross Arts. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info
Mon 28 Nov 2022: 19:30
Perth Concert Hall